BookSmart

Very bad release (3.2.4)

I’ve been making books with BookSmart since 2006 and I’ve been through a lot of versions of the software but this one (3.2.4) is a nightmare.
Inserting pages takes forever, duplicating pages the same. It seems that the software checks for issues for every page inserted. This is useless.
The “fix me” window is annoying, and keeps on popping up even though I don’t care that I have resolution or text issues. I want a preference setting to force BookSmart to ignore issues.
Font seem to have a life of their own and there’s still no way to do a mass-set to solve font inconsistency across the book.

Does Blurb wants us to invest in inDesign or what?

JY.

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
JeanYves
Apr 16, 2012 9:56pm PDT
JeanYves

Forgot to mention, I’m using the PC version on Windows 7.

Posted by
JeanYves
Apr 16, 2012 9:57pm PDT
JeanYves

Geeze, I’m on a Mac version and it reads as if I wrote the post! The total lack of text awareness is baffling, using styles helps some but it’s still hit or miss. Trying to move pages is a crapshoot, as the software has a nasty habit of zooming & unzooming as I click around in completely undesired ways. And yes, the "you have issues" that pops up WHILE I’M IN THE MIDDLE OF TYPING is simply beyond annoying, it’s user hostile.

Instead of fast  & lean, Booksmart is getting bloated, and worst part is not only do the new "features" make the software less usable, but most of the new "features" fail to work consistently. 

I use Blurb because it’s the best option for me, but that doesn’t mean it’s very good. There are brilliant parts to the system & there are issues that prompt me to scour Google for a suitable replacement. I spent 40 hours in Booksmart this week, and I feel 1/4 of that time was spent dealing with Booksmart oddities and bugs.