BookSmart

Image Size

I posted this in error in general topics earlier so am reposting it here.

I have searched the forums but still confused on the whole image size, dpi, thing.  I am very new to photography so please bear with me if this is a "dumb" question. When I click on "get photos"  and get my photos from my files, the photos appear in the folder on the left. If I drag the cursor over them, most show a size of 3264/2448 while a few show sizes of 7617/5713, 5642/4238, 5208/2798 etc. The larger ones are two or more photos combined in Corel Draw and exported to file as a jpeg. When I drag and drop these images to the pages (using pages with boxes, no full bleed) they look fine after I use the zoom/crop tool to get them to fit the boxes. Does this mean that the zoom/crop tool has reduced the image size/dpi etc., appropriately so that it will print ok when it is sent to the printer at Book Smart? I have printed a few pages and they look fine but am worried about the BookSmart instructions regarding maximum image size. Thanks for your help.

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
waltn1
Aug 23, 2007 11:10am PDT
waltn1

Hey – Those dimensions you list are the exact pixel by pixel dimensions of each file you’ve imported. That’s not exactly the same as dpi (dots per inch). It’s a confusing relationship thing that I don’t entirely understand either. Ideal dpi for your book is 300 and anything less is going to be fuzzy, that I do know.

I don’t use Corel Draw, but, in Photoshop, you can check your dpi under "image size". It will also show your pixel by pixel dimensions.

The one rule I also know for sure is that you cannot increase dpi or pixel size without losing some clarity. The only way to "correct" a resolution issue is to re-scan your image at the proper resolution (or higher).