PDF to Book

From BookSmart to InDesign

I’ve created several books using BookSmart and PhotoShop.
I’m satisfied with the results, but I’m open to improving my results.

I plan to do several more in the coming months, and I am testing InDesign and trying to decide if the $700 will be money well spent.  I’d appreciate any comments from users of InDesign.

Thanks,

Larry

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
largold2
Jul 30, 2011 6:59am PDT
largold2

Hi Larry

I too created quite a few books using BookSmart/Photoshop/Lightroom, and I’m now working ona book using InDesign. What "drove" me to InDesign for this particular book is that it has a lot of text that I needed to flow from page to page among photographs, and BookSmart just doesn’t do this in any reasonable way.

I’m not a design professional, but I AM a very serious amateur and pretty good with digital media software. I found the learning curve for InDesign to be reasonably steep, but doable. I used the videos I found on the Kelby Training website to learn the program (I have a subscription) and that was very helpful. There are also training videos on the Adobe website. Now that I’ve gotten fairly comfortable with the program I am finding it fantastic in terms of the flexibility for designs. Things i love: being able to flow the text, which it excels at; being able to go back and forth from Photoshop to InDesign to tweak photos without having to go through the whole BookSmart re-importing process; more flexibility with styles for text – you can have as many styles as you want and you can have things like initial drop caps and I can use my OpenType fonts (I am on Windows and BookSmart doesn’t recognize OpenType fonts in Windows); more flexibility with the photos – you can have them in any shape and round the corners on the rectangular ones, and tilt them, etc; the ability to tweak the layout on the page itself, without going back and forth to the Edit Layout view in BookSmart; more flexibility to incorporate design elem