Tips and Tricks

Share your book marketing ideas here

I’ve created my first Blurb book (http://spectralight.com/myblog/2011/08/11/sneak-peak-picturesque-olmsted-falls-book-at-the-printer/) and I’m now looking for marketing ideas to generate interest and sales.

Please share things that you’ve tried and whether they were successful or not. Perhaps explain why you think it did or didn’t succeed or if the "jury is still out."

I will start this thread with a couple of my ideas in the next posts.

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
maderemark
Sep 8, 2011 4:22am PDT
maderemark

The first tip is easy! I wrote a post on my blog introducing my book (http://spectralight.com/myblog/2011/08/11/sneak-peak-picturesque-olmsted-falls-book-at-the-printer/). Now my "followers" are aware of it and can see it online.

I’m also a freelance writer for Examiner.com. I introduced my book there in an article as it is relevant to my title – "Cleveland Neighborhood Photography Examiner." (shameless free advertising).

If anyone would like to become a freelance writer for Examiner.com (the pay is almost zero but it’s a great way to promote your work), send me an e-mail to mark@spectralight.com for information.

Posted by
maderemark
Sep 8, 2011 4:39am PDT
maderemark

Offer a bonus when someone buys your book by a certain date. For example, I’ve created a slide show of all the photos in my book set to music. I burned the show to DVD and it is now ready to be played on a big screen TV or on a computer. I set a price of $47 for the DVD. I don’t expect to sell any at that price but it gives me the ability to offer a nice discount when used as a promtional item to sell the books.

I will create a mail-in rebate form that says something to the effect of:

Get our DVD of all the photos from our new book, "Picturesque Olmsted Falls" for only $14.77 when you send us a copy of your receipt showing your book purchase. You SAVE $32.23! Offer expires (date)