Tips and Tricks

10mp photos good enough for 13X11?

Hi all, I’m new to photohgraphy and plan to get a DSLR so that I could print the photobooks on blurb. The Nikon D40x I’m getting takes pictures at a maximum of 10.2mp. I was wondering if that is good enough for the Large Format landscape? (13X11)

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
saintalvin
Feb 4, 2008 5:39pm PDT
saintalvin

10.2MB is fine. I have a Pentax K10D which takes 10.2mp photos the size being 3872×2592 pixels, your Nikon should be similar. My photos look great in the trial book I recently received.

The template with the largest space for a photo ideally requires a 3426×2442 photo. A full bleed page for the 13" x 11" Landscape books needs, ideally, a photo of 3788×3263 pixels, Blurb say about half that size should still produce a satisfactory page (they say from 150 to 300pdpi), so you can see there is no problem.

But I use Photoshop to resize the photos to the dimensions recommended by BookSmart for each of the templates, my guess being that Adobe will have better re-sampling algorithms than Blurb – I use bi-cubic interpolation. That produces a JPEG at maximum quality of between 5Mb to 6Mb to load into BookSmart.

.......Tony

Posted by
tfrankland
Feb 5, 2008 12:21am PDT
tfrankland

Are you buying the larger MP camera just to make a Blurb book?  I have a D40 and I love it.  I’m very happy with the quality of the pictures in my Blurb book.  Here are some pictures:  http://theartofengineering.wordpress.com/2007/12/31/theyre-finally-here-part-2/

I’m not sure what the current price difference it between the D40 & the D40X but you may want to save your money and spend it on a lens instead.  That’s what I did.  Well sort of, I bought a really expensive lens and I put that money towards it.  The differences I know of are the larger MP and the 40X has one lower ISO setting.  Either way you should check out Ken Rockwell’s site if you haven’t done so already.