Tips and Tricks

Locked TAB SETTING

I would like to know how to set the tab half of its present setting.

What is the correct tab setting for a book? 

Posted by
berdugoed
Sep 8, 2008 4:14pm PDT
berdugoed

Hi there

As you’ve probably discovered, Booksmart won’t allow you to set custom tab settings.  Booksmart can do a lot more with text than in previous versions, but not that.

As for standard tab/indent settings, a google search for those terms should bring some results. 

Posted by
mikewhy
Sep 9, 2008 4:45pm PDT
mikewhy Icon_staff

I’m having trouble with this too. The tab/indent setting is double what I would like for my book. Especially when columns are not very wide. I’ve been using multiple spaces to get around this, but that causes a bug where the text on that line pushes out the right side of the column if it is ‘justified’. I know the layouts of Booksmart were designed by an artist, and I think they are great, but I’m an artist too and this is frustrating for me. I’m going to end up forcing it to work somehow with spaces.

Posted by
ccording
Feb 16, 2009 11:15pm PDT
ccording

Here Here!  I totally agree. I am layout out a 400 page novel and it looks ridiculous!  I would also like a half-size tab indent… or as you said, a fix for the problem when you use spaces for indentation (was going with 4 spaces til I saw how stupid it looked).  I am reluctant to print it while it looks like this.

Hopefully someone at blurb can address this problem for us soon.

Posted by
ChannyG
May 18, 2010 5:44am PDT
ChannyG

I think that you can get around this problem by setting your tabs to Blurb size (I use either .18 or .25 for a 5×8 book) before you open it in Blurb.

Lew

Posted by
Lewking2
Sep 10, 2010 12:09pm PDT
Lewking2

I’m wrong. When I set my tabs in my word docunent to .25 and moved the document into Blurb it lost the paragraph indents.

Lew

Posted by
Lewking2
Sep 11, 2010 1:48pm PDT
Lewking2