Tips and Tricks

color proofing

I’m working on my first book.  I’m doing a 10×8 landscape hardcover book.  I’ve read around on the web, blogs, the forums here, and Sam’s posting about the ICC profile.  I got everything set up in Photoshop 7 and it all seems to work correctly but I have a few questions.

(1) Image sizes: should I crop and/or resize my images to the exact width x height recommended by the tool tip when I mouseover?

(2) DPI: I’ve read that the books are printed at 300 DPI. Do I need to save my images in Photoshop at 300 DPI, or will BookSmart automatically convert them to 300 DPI?

(3) I have a Canon Digital Rebel XT. All the photos I’m using were taken in the sRGB colorspace. I’ve looked at some of my images and the colors are brilliant. When I do the soft proof using the HP Indigo ICC profile though the colors become muted (kind of like an overall subtle grayness/dullness). I’m using all the same settings Sam suggested (perceptual, white paper, etc). I’m new to printing so I don’t know if this is what it should look like and is acceptable or if I should tweak the color more. Adding some saturation seemed to help but they still don’t look the originals.  If anyone has tweaks that they use for their photos while viewing the ICC soft proof, I’d appreciate your sharing them, particularly if you’re using a Digital Rebel XT.

Many thanks, 

Dewayne

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
gogators
Sep 16, 2007 6:20pm PDT
gogators

Hi Dewayne

I find it best to create my pages in Photoshop at the exact size needed to put into a BokkSmart full bleed page. You should create your images at 300DPI/PPI in PS that will give you the best results.

The color proof does dim the image which gives you an idea of how the printed image will look, this type of printing will always look less radient than what is displayed on the screen, or what can be produced on glossy photo paper.