Tips and Tricks

Build my own book templates

<font face="Times New Roman" size="3" color="#000000"></font><font face="Times New Roman" size="3" color="#000000">I see that the current version does not support building your own templates and the usual solution is to use a 3<sup>rd</sup> party design package and then import a JPG. I like the standard blurb templates and only need to make minor changes to get what I want.</font><font face="Times New Roman" size="3" color="#000000"> </font>

<font face="Times New Roman" size="3" color="#000000">As a software developer I can see that the Blurb books are stored in XML format which allows me to see all the templates and how they work. So I expect it should not be much trouble for me to add my own templates to the system. My only concern is when I send in my book to be published is if the Blurb printer software going to complain when it sees my templates.</font>

<font face="Times New Roman" size="3" color="#000000"> </font>

<font face="Times New Roman" size="3" color="#000000">Anybody managed to add their own templates to the system?</font>

<font face="Times New Roman" size="3" color="#000000"> </font> Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
MartinRobert
Sep 29, 2007 6:43pm PDT
MartinRobert

i want to be able to edit / create my own templates with a drag and drop concept (instead of code). 

Posted by
nsa107
Oct 4, 2007 8:47pm PDT
nsa107

There shouldn’t be a problem … the BookSmart “book” is converted to PDF before uploading I understand, (given the open source components they used to build BookSmart it’d be most likely) so there would be no “verification” of the template XML after uploading as it no longer exists… the RIP at the printer would just use the PDF’s postscript ….

Posted by
vargus
Oct 4, 2007 9:34pm PDT
vargus