General Interest

A letter to Blurb's CEO and Board of Directors

Dear Blurb,

The quality of your printing is exceptional. For the price, nobody does as good a job as you do. I stopped using other OD printers because Blurb.com had the best product available at the time and it came at a price I could afford. 

That being said, I have to take issue with some of the decisions that are being made. They may seem like the right decisions from where you sit, but from where I sit (I’m a professional photographer, writer, designer) Blurb has made some very short-sighted decisions.

I’m not sure how to explain it, but it seems as though someone is coming up with ideas and stopping halfway, never reaching the idea’s full potential. You come up with something great, but the implementation has so many flaws and restrictions that it’s almost not worth messing with. I know there are many factors that affect these decisions (most of them financial, I’m sure), but providing an incomplete product is a very bad idea. Some examples…

Magazines? Great idea to offer magazines. They could be great portfolio pieces and would make excellent gifts to give to clients, but you either have to lay out your book in a completely different software app and create a PDF, or purchase a $700 Adobe application just to be able to make one. Not a viable option when time and money are at all time lows. You think YOU have financial concerns? Take a peek at your customers. Money is an issue for all of us and it’s not only insulting, it’s mean to offer such a cool product that the majority of us simply can’t purchase — not because we can’t afford to purchase the product itself, but because we can’t afford the third-party tools required to create said product.