General Interest

Buying new digital camera

I’ve been using a little Nikon coolpix L3 for almost two years and its been suiting me fine, except that occasionally it gets turned on inside of something, and the shutter gets stuck open, and I had to send it away to get fixed once.  This continues to hapen, even inside a camera case.

Anyhow, I was feeling that perhaps it is time for an upgrade,but I’m not really sure what is importance.  I would like to say one with more manuel options, but I honestly am more concerened with price than with taking my photography to a whole new level.
Any recommendations?

mahalo 

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
kazoodoctor
May 9, 2008 3:06am PDT
kazoodoctor

Aloha kazoodoctor;

You’re really in the wrong forum for this type of question…

I’m sure you’ll get some suggestions; but you’re better off looking at a dedicated photography forum if you want a decent range of options presented…

Starting point is to decide if you want to go further than a "point & shoot" even with some manual functionality… I.e to a D-SLR…

There are just so many options available now that what I did when I upgraded my wife’s camera recently was literally just go down to the local book-store and bought the latest "What Digital Camera" (or some such) magazine, waded through that, then did the online comparisons, and finally reduced the list down to a manageable number…

A very good starting place is "Photography-on-the-Net"  and the Forums in particular, although they tend to be Canon biased…

Apart from that I would Google something along the lines of "Digital Camera Review"...

DPReview is another VERY GOOD site for starters… I’ve used it quite a lot in the past…

Sorry, I’m not being more help, but the possibilities here are endless without a little more input from you on exactly what you want…

Good luck;

Lee

Posted by
lkb-28
May 9, 2008 3:52am PDT
lkb-28

mahalo,