General Interest

To those who are seriously selling their books...

Hi! I’m a newbie in this so-called book industry and I’m thankful to blurb for encouraging people to self-publish their books. Anyway, a few people suggested that I should register my current book to our National Library here in the Philippines. Have you guys done or even planned to do this with your self-published books? And what can you say about copyright registration?

Hoping to hear from you guys!
My book’s link: http://www.blurb.com/books/1543472

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
jmdelarama
Oct 5, 2010 9:14pm PDT
jmdelarama

Good evening,

as soon as you  start to sell your books to the public you enter the field of copyright. I fear that at least a good deal of your photographs of monuments in France are in conflict with copyright.

Please check this information on WIKI concerning the panorama Freiheit in France and other European countries.

Quotation:"Some countries, such as France or Belgium, do not have this global permission for making images at public places at all and allow images of copyrighted works only under "incidental inclusion" clauses.<sup class="reference">[11]</sup>"

These facts are a regrettable reality. Your book is very nice with fine photography, but I would not dare to go public with it to be honest.

Under the given circumstances I can not recommend to proceed with the process of a registration.

Posted by
editionh
Oct 7, 2010 10:30am PDT
editionh

What the…I did not know this. That pretty muchs ends any attempt of having an upbeat morning for me.

Posted by
dmkilbride
Oct 10, 2010 8:23am PDT
dmkilbride

Good day to you gentlemen! That’s just sad! But thanks for the good info regarding some copyright issues in Europe. This only makes me want to further study the matter… I wonder the “how’s” on some registered coffee-table books with such photography content. How did they made their books public then?… Hmmm… the process…

Anyway, thank you again. :)

Posted by
jmdelarama