Book Design and Imaging

At what size will text (as jpeg) become fuzzy?

hi,

I’m currently designing a book using photoshop i.e none of blurbs templates. I will later import each page as a jpeg. Each page has minimal text (page numbers and a few words – 8 at the most!) but being a typical designer I like my text nice and small. i’m aware that there currently aren’t any options to upload as PDFs to keep the text crisp, so jpegs and pngs are the only option.

1) which is the best option of these two?

2) what is the difference between them with regards to the final output?

3) What ’s the lowest size of text can i get away with?

Thanks!

Dave 

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
Acushla
May 13, 2008 8:54am PDT
Acushla

Upload your layouts as jpegs at 300dpi – your text will be fine. I’m a BlurbNation designer with 18 books under my belt and this system has worked excellently for me with all of them.

I have gone as low as 8 point  text.

Posted by
CWN
May 13, 2008 9:08am PDT
CWN

Thanks for that! Can anybody tell me the difference between Jpegs and PNGs at all?

Posted by
Acushla
May 13, 2008 9:20am PDT
Acushla

Dave, my experience is a little different from that of CWN, but just from the printing of one book, I haven’t got her depth of experience over many books (yet!).

I did a test book at the beginning of this year that tried all sorts of different approaches on text, use of BookSmart templates versus Adobe Photoshop designed pages, Soft-Proofed Images versus ones that I simply inserted unchecked, different font types, etc, etc.