Book Design and Imaging

monitor calibration

I am new to both Blurb books & to monitor calibration but just had a bad experience with my photos being printed too dark in a magazine. And now I read that many folks have had similar experiences with the printing of photos in their Blurb book.

So I’ve ordered Spyder3Pro monitor calibration software and expect it to arrive tomorrow. But what then? Can anyone please give me tips on how to calibrate my monitor so it is in sync with the HP Digital Indigo printer Blurb uses to print their books? BTW I use Adobe Photoshop CS2 to edit my digital photos and this project is all in sRGB color. My computer is the MacBook Pro.

Yes, I want the color to match what I see on my computer screen but am also concerned about the possibility of ending up with images that are too dark. I tend towards preferring my images to have depth and contrast but I want them to be readable as well.

As for the book format, I have chosen the 10×8 landscape hardcover with flaps. I plan to have my books printed on premium paper. I will order one book first to be sure it looks OK before ordering the others. My cover photo bleeds over the edges of the book and I have allowed 1/4” tolerance for the trim.

All suggestions and links are most welcome. Thank you.

Patricia

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
playdorsey
Apr 26, 2009 1:58pm PDT
playdorsey

Calibration does not put your monitor in sync with a printer.   It puts your monitor in sync with a standard for display. 

The intensities of a color for a pixel is represented by a number.  The monitor displays that number as it understands it, and the same number is printed as the HP Indigo understands it.