Book Design and Imaging

Stability - or otherwise - of the 'bold' feature; also Q ref contest

Hi – I’m new at this and it’s turning out to be a lot more work than I expected – I’ll be okay with that, though, as long as it comes out the way I expect it to – hence my question ref the bold feature.

I’m trying to put a block of text under a pic, in a text box, and highlight a word here and there as bold. Everything then changes by itself. I can have a page exactly the way I want it to be and then go off to work on another one, and then come back to the first one and it’s changed all the text to bold.

If it’s like this now, then how do I know my formatting will survive through the printing process?

If you don’t think it will, then I’d like to know now so I can think of a different way of achieving the effect I want rather than wasting any more time doing it this way.

Also – the book contest – when it says photos – it has to be photos does it? I can’t enter a book that is entirely artwork? Just thought I’d ask on the offchance. I have noticed people using the word ‘photos’ as a generic term covering all kinds of pics.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
SusanAlison
Oct 3, 2009 7:24am PDT
SusanAlison

Concerning your first question:

I have had similar issues with Booksmart in the past. However, I only had a few problematic pages… Here’s something you can do;

• copy that problematic text in a Word document,
  • highlight the text in question,
  • select "Edit" > "Clear" > "Formats",
  • add a new page to your book and paste the text from your Word Document.

According to technical support, this may get ride of some formatting problems. However, if you’re having this sort of issue on several pages, this solution may be quite time consuming…

If you need more information, I strongly suggest contacting Technical Support.