Book Design and Imaging

Need advice with photos

Hey there, I’m new at this whole photo book thing and just found out that my photos are only 180 DPI and the ideal is 300 with the minimum requirements being at 150. Is there a way to improve your photos to a better quality for printing? And will the 180 DPI produce a good print on an 8X10 full bleed layout? Thanks so much! Kristen

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
kljacobsen
Dec 20, 2009 4:52pm PDT
kljacobsen

My camera shoots at 240 dpi. Here how I deal with this:

1) In BookSmart, mouse over the container for the image you are working on, and write down the pixel dimensions you see in the little box that pops up

2) Open your photo in an mage-editing program like Photoshop, change the dpi setting to 300 and the pixel dimensions to the size you got from step one

3) After the image has been resized, save and import into BS

In my case, the image container was a little taller (in proportion) than my camera shoots, so I set the width of the image to what was required, and let the height fall a bit short. For example, the BS image container was 2271 × 1588. My original photo was 3008 × 2000. So in order to preserve the original aspect ratio and not crop any of the image, I resized it to 2271 × 1510 at 300 dpi. This made the image a bit shorter than the container, so I just top-aligned the image in its container, although you could center or bottom-align it. I just top-aligned them all for consistency.