Book Printing

Locked Delighted with Blurb Books...but is there a problem with Proline Paper?

I’ve had six books of various sizes printed by Blurb on standard and lustre finish papers, and they have all lived up to my expectations. But the last book has been disappointingly dark.

I’d like to preface this by mentioning that as a professional photographer I keep my monitor calibrated regularly and use a constant work flow for all my images. In essence nothing changed from the earlier books to the last one except that I chose Proline Pearl paper.

In photographic terms the book is looks  about 1.25 stops underexposed. I had the book reprinted and it is still looks about 0.75 stops underexposed. Interestingly I chose a mid-grey for the  text and in both books it is almost black and beach scenes of golden sand look muddy and ugly.

I’ve been in contact with customer support and I have to say that they have been very helpful, I’ve followed their suggestions regarding monitor brightness (already set as suggested), and I also watched  the video by Joe Brady.  I reset the monitor colour temperature from 5,000 to 6,500 as per his recommendations – using a Spyder Pro2 – all the other settings were already correct. 

My next step was to change Photoshop’s (CS4) "colour settings" to the Blurb preferences and retain them as a template…and lastly I downloaded the Blurb ICC Profile.

With all that done, I figured that any problems would become very evident when I opened images that looked really dark in the book. Using the above profiles, I viewed them in the Blurb ICC profile and found to my surprise, that they all appeared  slightly lighter and not darker as I had anticipated. 

I like the feel and weight of the proline paper, but I need the book to look right, so, before I try again, and use the Lustre Finish paper, I thought I’d just check on the Forum to see if anyone has any suggestions that can throw some light on the problem.

Many thanks….George

Posted by
georgemunday