Book Printing

Book to book consistency

I am a professional Fine Art Photography and I teach as well. This would be my first attempt at making my images into a book. I print everything myself and teach the process as well so I am not worried about making the book itself.

What I am worried about is book to book consistency when I put it up for sale. I am worried about someone buying the book off of the website, it is printed and mailed to them, and I never see the quality. What if I sale 20 books in one month and 18 of them are not printed the same as the books I got for myself, you know something may have gone wrong.

Can anyone testify as to the consistency of Blurb’s printing from one book to the next over a period of time?

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
mltphoto
Jan 2, 2009 1:46pm PDT
mltphoto

mltphoto,

I have been creating and ordering books for over a year from Blurb. My experience with the hard bound books with the printed cover is that the internal book printing is pretty consistent. Not identical as when ordering  a large number from a single printer. B&W color shifts as you might expect are more noticable than with color images. The covers on the other hand can be dramatically different, especially background colors. The covers are not printed on the same printer as the books and  the color shifts can be quite large as I found on my last book (private printing). This has caused a small problem in that the books were given as gifts and now several on the individuals have asked to purchase additional books for their children. The printing have now come from two different printers and the green color of the cover vary from a sherwood green to bluish green. It takes a little explaining that the difference is not a defect. If the background color of your proposed books are critical, you might want to contact Blurb Support to see if there is a way around this. I think there is but it will cost you.

Len

Posted by
lcarreira
Jan 2, 2009 7:31pm PDT
lcarreira