Book Printing

Book Sizes - The Need for an intermediate size format?

Am I the only one who thinks that the current book sizes and difference in prices for print publishing the formats is too far apart, in particular from the largest hardback size to the next size down?

At the moment a 0-40 page hardback in 10X8 format costs £15.95 – the next size up is 13X11 where a 0-40 page book will set you back £27.95

I’m not an expert in print techniques but the hike in price for the format size seems quite large. I’d love to see an intermediate size like 11X9 softback and hardback option for printing.

Anyone  else agree?

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
CHACK
Feb 11, 2009 10:04am PDT
CHACK

Agreed – something around the "B/W Text" size but in full colour, or a straighforward A5 landscape.

Alister

Posted by
alister42
Nov 14, 2009 8:29am PDT
alister42

Totally agree. 7×7 is simply too small for fine art. 12×12 is a great size, but too costly for most friends. A 10×10 book with a price point of around of say $39.95 for a 40 page dust jacket hard cover would be very attractive. One could tack on a $10 profit and still be under $50, which seems to be a psychological ceiling for a lot of people. 10×10 seems like it would be a great compromise between size and affordability.

One reason the square format is great for fine art is that it allows you to use both portrait and landscape photographs in a creative layout.

In any event, Blurb absolutely needs to introduce at least a couple of in-between sizes and prices.

Posted by
novalightmik
Nov 14, 2009 4:16pm PDT
novalightmik

I agree! I recently created a square kids’ book. My only choice was 7" X 7" or 12" X 12" . I definitely would have liked something in between. Even 8" or 9" would have been better.

Posted by
bebrad
Nov 26, 2012 9:39am PDT
bebrad