Book Printing

Book production quality in Europe?

I have read quite a few posts about poor production and quality control of books in Europe.
I am a complete beginner with Blurb – just started my book a couple of weeks ago and so far have been really impressed with the customer support, software and online tutorials etc

The posts about production quality really concern me. I am making a book for my grandmother 100th birthday and don’t have time to do a test run and I want a high quality book – not a cheap one. I am happy to pay extra for good quality and to be sure my book isn’t bound upside down and have pages fall out.

I am very interested to hear recent experiences – or should I switch from Blurb to another publisher before it is too late?

Any tips in terms of book size or anything else to make sure the quality is top notch? Can I request that a book be printed in a location that has the best quality record?

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
AnnaKR
Oct 29, 2009 11:33am PDT
AnnaKR

I just recieved my order of 20 imagewrap books and was delighted, read my more detailed opinions here:

http://forums.blurb.com/forums/5/topics/7527

I did however previously order a softcover book and was very disappointed (the covers curled terribly)

Im in the UK, i believe there is one central printer for blurb in Europe as my books were shipped from Sweden.

Posted by
superjim
Nov 4, 2009 8:42am PDT
superjim

As far as I understood the quality problems occur mostly in the USA. The European printer is located in the Netherlands, and does a great job. I myself live there, and the 2 (hard cover) books I’ve made so far where excellent! In the forums I have read only positive reactions regarding our Dutch printer. But I’m afraid you will not be able to choose a printer yourself…

Posted by
barmsijs
Nov 16, 2009 6:13am PDT
barmsijs