Book Printing

A little confused here!

What profile do I convert to before placing images in the Book Smart software for output. The webinar says to convert to HP5000 CMYK as the final profile and the FAQ says sRGB. I have just received my first Blurb 13X11 book back from the printers and the colors look decent, but RED especially the skin tones. I am a professional Photographer as well as a Prepress professional and I am retired from National Geographic so I’m used to working with CMYK in very picky ways.

My monitor is calibrated properly and I use other Labs for press as well as prints and have had excellent results.

So my question is do I send Blurb CMYK or sRGB…<cite>??</cite>?

JIm

Replytopic_b_normal
Posted by
artsnimages
Nov 8, 2009 3:10am PDT
artsnimages

Jim: If you use the Booksmart software, you should soft-proof to the HP Indigo profile but assign (or convert if using a different colorspace) sRGB to the soft-proofed images. Booksmart expects that all images submitted will be in the sRGB colorspace.

If you are using the PDF to Book approach, it is recommended that you actually convert to CMYK.

Posted by
Minicucci
Nov 9, 2009 8:53pm PDT
Minicucci

Oh, lord. I was just about to upload my book when I read this. My photographs are all in Adobe RGB (1998), not sRGB. Does this mean I nead to convert all my images to sRGB, re-import everything into BookSmart and then replace all the images in my book? There goes another day of work.