Ordering and Shipping

Locked cant upload from lightroom

Hi there
newbie here. I have lightroom4 with the blurb book add-on. I have tried several times to upload a book to be printed but all I get is a very vague communication error message about half way through the upload process.
any ideas to what could be the problem?
any help greatly appreciated
cheers

Posted by
peekaybee
Jun 27, 2012 2:39am PDT
peekaybee

This is the error message I get: “There was an error creating your book on the Blurb server (Network Communication). Please try again.” not much help eh?
have tried relogging into blurb. no internet security thingies going on.
anyone got any ideas?

Posted by
peekaybee
Jun 27, 2012 3:04am PDT
peekaybee

Hi peekaybee,

If the upload hangs somewhere around 80% I recommend trying from a wired/different connection (provided you’re on a laptop). Almost all Lightroom4 upload issues are due to a connection restriction of some sort.

You may also want to try exporting your book to a PDF to see if it’s a PDF rendering problem.

-Craig

Posted by
csm
Jun 27, 2012 10:48am PDT
csm Icon_staff

Hi Craig
Thanks for getting back to me.
have exported the book to PDF with no problems.
It seems to at 50% that it stops uploading. have tried uploading from wifi & ethernet
Patrick

Posted by
peekaybee
Jun 28, 2012 9:34am PDT
peekaybee

Hi peekaybee,

It’s possible there is either a software or network firewall blocking the upload (uploads to Blurb.com are currently working fine in LR4). The only way to see for sure if this is the case is to export your catalog to another computer and try uploading via another connection (not best solution, I know).

If it’s an office connection would also recommend uploading from somewhere else if possible. You can also test the connection by creating a small blank book and trying to upload that.

-Craig

Posted by
csm
Jun 28, 2012 3:51pm PDT
csm Icon_staff

Dear peekaybee,